complicated remote



gnpmark
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
I am at home on my winxp pro connected to the internet through Dhcp router to
my cable company. I think I have made all the remote things available that I
can. I am trying to reach my computer at work which is on an ADSL by sprint
with a static IP that bridges to a DHCP router then to a Lynksys router with
DHCP in and out. Can I get to my office computer? If so, how? My office
computer is on a local domain I.e. <computername.domain.local> Office
computer is winXP Pro. both computers have SP2 installed?
--
gnpmark

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Basically you need to port forward TCP Port 3389 through the ADSL modem, the
DHCP router (whatever brand that is) and the Linksys router. I would contact
your work network administrators for help with that...

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"gnpmark" <gnpmark@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:9D634E00-0D99-4AC9-AC9E-C060068642C9@microsoft.com...
>I am at home on my winxp pro connected to the internet through Dhcp router
>to
> my cable company. I think I have made all the remote things available
> that I
> can. I am trying to reach my computer at work which is on an ADSL by
> sprint
> with a static IP that bridges to a DHCP router then to a Lynksys router
> with
> DHCP in and out. Can I get to my office computer? If so, how? My office
> computer is on a local domain I.e. <computername.domain.local> Office
> computer is winXP Pro. both computers have SP2 installed?
> --
> gnpmark

gnpmark
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Sooner AL

I really appreciate your input. I had seen the port forwarding concept for
3389 but was unsure that was the way to go. You might be able to confirm
some of my proposed settings. Sprint is my DSL provider. We have opted for
a static IP through a Zyxel Prestige 645R-A1 Modem/Router. I would propose
to set the NAT address to forward 3389 to 192.168.1.33 which is the outgoing
router DHCP-IP. It then goes to a Linksys Router that acquires it. I would
then forward 3389 through UPnP to my DHCP assigned computer IP address for my
office computer? Or would I use the Range Forwarding Feature on the Linksys
Router?

gnpmark

--
gnpmark


"Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:

> Basically you need to port forward TCP Port 3389 through the ADSL modem, the
> DHCP router (whatever brand that is) and the Linksys router. I would contact
> your work network administrators for help with that...
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
> benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights...
>
>
> "gnpmark" <gnpmark@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:9D634E00-0D99-4AC9-AC9E-C060068642C9@microsoft.com...
> >I am at home on my winxp pro connected to the internet through Dhcp router
> >to
> > my cable company. I think I have made all the remote things available
> > that I
> > can. I am trying to reach my computer at work which is on an ADSL by
> > sprint
> > with a static IP that bridges to a DHCP router then to a Lynksys router
> > with
> > DHCP in and out. Can I get to my office computer? If so, how? My office
> > computer is on a local domain I.e. <computername.domain.local> Office
> > computer is winXP Pro. both computers have SP2 installed?
> > --
> > gnpmark
>
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
For this to work properly static IP addresses are needed on the networks
inside your Zyxel modem/router including for the target PC. You then forward
TCP Port 3389 through all of the network components to the static LAN IP of
the next firewall/router and/or PC. Your going to need help from your local
office/work network administrators to do this.

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"gnpmark" <gnpmark@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5F98CBBD-34B1-4053-9A88-7AC747BD58D0@microsoft.com...
> Sooner AL
>
> I really appreciate your input. I had seen the port forwarding concept
> for
> 3389 but was unsure that was the way to go. You might be able to confirm
> some of my proposed settings. Sprint is my DSL provider. We have opted
> for
> a static IP through a Zyxel Prestige 645R-A1 Modem/Router. I would
> propose
> to set the NAT address to forward 3389 to 192.168.1.33 which is the
> outgoing
> router DHCP-IP. It then goes to a Linksys Router that acquires it. I
> would
> then forward 3389 through UPnP to my DHCP assigned computer IP address for
> my
> office computer? Or would I use the Range Forwarding Feature on the
> Linksys
> Router?
>
> gnpmark
>
> --
> gnpmark
>
>
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> Basically you need to port forward TCP Port 3389 through the ADSL modem,
>> the
>> DHCP router (whatever brand that is) and the Linksys router. I would
>> contact
>> your work network administrators for help with that...
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
>> benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>> rights...
>>
>>
>> "gnpmark" <gnpmark@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:9D634E00-0D99-4AC9-AC9E-C060068642C9@microsoft.com...
>> >I am at home on my winxp pro connected to the internet through Dhcp
>> >router
>> >to
>> > my cable company. I think I have made all the remote things available
>> > that I
>> > can. I am trying to reach my computer at work which is on an ADSL by
>> > sprint
>> > with a static IP that bridges to a DHCP router then to a Lynksys router
>> > with
>> > DHCP in and out. Can I get to my office computer? If so, how? My
>> > office
>> > computer is on a local domain I.e. <computername.domain.local> Office
>> > computer is winXP Pro. both computers have SP2 installed?
>> > --
>> > gnpmark
>>
>>
>>


complicated remote