RD works via lan but not via internet



Bart Stradmeijer
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Hi,

I have problems setting up RD on a computer running Windows XP professional
over the internet while everything works fine over lan. This is the same for
VNC. On Windows 2000 computers vnc works fine.

I have gone through the page
http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html
with the following results:

1) Firewall is turned off (windows and other software firewalls, on my
router NAT is turned on).
2) In NAT on the router de ports TCP 3389 (RD) and TCP 5900 (VNC) are
forwarded.
3) My ISP has assigned a static IP.
4) Logging Remote Desktop Connection information > only local logons asre
found (lan), remote (internet) logons are not found in the log.
5) Port reporter > the same as 4)
6) Netstat shows that the ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
7) Port qwery> Local IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
Internet IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being
filtered.
Internet IP address: other ports are blocked.
8) IPconfig information: comparing ipconfig information between the XP and
the 2000 machine I see that IP routing and win-proxy are enabled on the XP
machine and not on the 2000 machine.

I have had the same problems on a XP home machine (with VNC and not RD),
which was not resolved.

It looks like RD and VNC are functioning well on the XP machine in een
lan-setting. VNC is working fine on W2000 machines in a LAN en internet
setting. XP with VNC and RD in a internet setting just want to work
properly. What am I doing wrong?

gts Bart

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What router?
With that information perhaps someone can help with specific instructions...

http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm

To test this you must be using a remote PC and *NOT* a local PC calling the
public IP of the router.

Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?

Have you tried the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP PC for both
TCP Port 3389 (RDP) and TCP Port 5900 (VNC)? Does the test report the
correct static IP for the router (as assigned by your ISP)? If you get a
timeout then its back to the router issue...

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
news:42bd502a$0$768$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> Hi,
>
> I have problems setting up RD on a computer running Windows XP
> professional
> over the internet while everything works fine over lan. This is the same
> for
> VNC. On Windows 2000 computers vnc works fine.
>
> I have gone through the page
> http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html
> with the following results:
>
> 1) Firewall is turned off (windows and other software firewalls, on my
> router NAT is turned on).
> 2) In NAT on the router de ports TCP 3389 (RD) and TCP 5900 (VNC) are
> forwarded.
> 3) My ISP has assigned a static IP.
> 4) Logging Remote Desktop Connection information > only local logons asre
> found (lan), remote (internet) logons are not found in the log.
> 5) Port reporter > the same as 4)
> 6) Netstat shows that the ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
> 7) Port qwery> Local IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened
> to.
> Internet IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being
> filtered.
> Internet IP address: other ports are blocked.
> 8) IPconfig information: comparing ipconfig information between the XP and
> the 2000 machine I see that IP routing and win-proxy are enabled on the XP
> machine and not on the 2000 machine.
>
> I have had the same problems on a XP home machine (with VNC and not RD),
> which was not resolved.
>
> It looks like RD and VNC are functioning well on the XP machine in een
> lan-setting. VNC is working fine on W2000 machines in a LAN en internet
> setting. XP with VNC and RD in a internet setting just want to work
> properly. What am I doing wrong?
>
> gts Bart
>
>

cliffdi
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Hi

I think I have exactly the same problem. I'm using a DLink DSL 504 ADSL
router and the RDC connection works fine specifying the internal IP address
of my RDC host but not the router's public address. Again, I'm using NAT,
forwarding the RDC port to a statically assigned internal address on the RDC
host PC. No problems connecting to the RDC host's 3389 port from
canyouseeme.org.

Al, can you explain why this doesn't work from a second internal pc
(presumably something to do with NAT)?

Thanks and regards

Cliff

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
When you say it "doesn't work from a second internal pc" do you mean your
trying to call over your private LAN but using the public IP of your router?
To call another PC (ie. PC1) on your local private LAN from another PC (ie.
PC2) on the same LAN use the private LAN IP of PC1. Its not a valid test to
call the public IP for the router from PC2 and expect to connect to PC1.

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/TroubleshootingDiagrams/Basic.html

To test connectivity through the router you need to be on a remote system
(ie. at work or a friends house) then call PC1 using the public IP of the
router.

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"cliffdi" <cliffdi@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:38BB1237-33C1-442D-A4D5-05D2FCF04432@microsoft.com...
> Hi
>
> I think I have exactly the same problem. I'm using a DLink DSL 504 ADSL
> router and the RDC connection works fine specifying the internal IP
> address
> of my RDC host but not the router's public address. Again, I'm using NAT,
> forwarding the RDC port to a statically assigned internal address on the
> RDC
> host PC. No problems connecting to the RDC host's 3389 port from
> canyouseeme.org.
>
> Al, can you explain why this doesn't work from a second internal pc
> (presumably something to do with NAT)?
>
> Thanks and regards
>
> Cliff
>

cliffdi
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Yes, that's exactly what I'm doing, purely in an attempt to test that my
router's port forwarding works before taking PC2 (RDC client) offsite. If I
connect to PC1's (RDC host) internal IP address, there's no port forwarding
or network address translation involved (the entire connection is just on the
internal LAN via the ADSL router's internal hub). I was hoping that by
specifying the router's public ip address in the RDC client dialog on PC2
that this would force the connection out on to the public side of the router
and then back in as if the connection were coming in through the internet.
Clearly this isn't so, but I was wondering why?

Regards

Cliff

"Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:

> When you say it "doesn't work from a second internal pc" do you mean your
> trying to call over your private LAN but using the public IP of your router?
> To call another PC (ie. PC1) on your local private LAN from another PC (ie.
> PC2) on the same LAN use the private LAN IP of PC1. Its not a valid test to
> call the public IP for the router from PC2 and expect to connect to PC1.
>
> http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/TroubleshootingDiagrams/Basic.html
>
> To test connectivity through the router you need to be on a remote system
> (ie. at work or a friends house) then call PC1 using the public IP of the
> router.
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
> benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights...
>
>
> "cliffdi" <cliffdi@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:38BB1237-33C1-442D-A4D5-05D2FCF04432@microsoft.com...
> > Hi
> >
> > I think I have exactly the same problem. I'm using a DLink DSL 504 ADSL
> > router and the RDC connection works fine specifying the internal IP
> > address
> > of my RDC host but not the router's public address. Again, I'm using NAT,
> > forwarding the RDC port to a statically assigned internal address on the
> > RDC
> > host PC. No problems connecting to the RDC host's 3389 port from
> > canyouseeme.org.
> >
> > Al, can you explain why this doesn't work from a second internal pc
> > (presumably something to do with NAT)?
> >
> > Thanks and regards
> >
> > Cliff
> >
>
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Its a function of the router firmware. Some support it, others do not.
Personally I have never had a consumer grade router that did. In my case an
older Linksys BEFSR41 and my newer Buffalo WBR-G54.

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"cliffdi" <cliffdi@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8716D468-3575-4817-BD0C-7567728BAE7C@microsoft.com...
> Yes, that's exactly what I'm doing, purely in an attempt to test that my
> router's port forwarding works before taking PC2 (RDC client) offsite. If
> I
> connect to PC1's (RDC host) internal IP address, there's no port
> forwarding
> or network address translation involved (the entire connection is just on
> the
> internal LAN via the ADSL router's internal hub). I was hoping that by
> specifying the router's public ip address in the RDC client dialog on PC2
> that this would force the connection out on to the public side of the
> router
> and then back in as if the connection were coming in through the internet.
> Clearly this isn't so, but I was wondering why?
>
> Regards
>
> Cliff
>
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> When you say it "doesn't work from a second internal pc" do you mean your
>> trying to call over your private LAN but using the public IP of your
>> router?
>> To call another PC (ie. PC1) on your local private LAN from another PC
>> (ie.
>> PC2) on the same LAN use the private LAN IP of PC1. Its not a valid test
>> to
>> call the public IP for the router from PC2 and expect to connect to PC1.
>>
>> http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/TroubleshootingDiagrams/Basic.html
>>
>> To test connectivity through the router you need to be on a remote system
>> (ie. at work or a friends house) then call PC1 using the public IP of the
>> router.
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
>> benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>> rights...
>>
>>
>> "cliffdi" <cliffdi@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:38BB1237-33C1-442D-A4D5-05D2FCF04432@microsoft.com...
>> > Hi
>> >
>> > I think I have exactly the same problem. I'm using a DLink DSL 504 ADSL
>> > router and the RDC connection works fine specifying the internal IP
>> > address
>> > of my RDC host but not the router's public address. Again, I'm using
>> > NAT,
>> > forwarding the RDC port to a statically assigned internal address on
>> > the
>> > RDC
>> > host PC. No problems connecting to the RDC host's 3389 port from
>> > canyouseeme.org.
>> >
>> > Al, can you explain why this doesn't work from a second internal pc
>> > (presumably something to do with NAT)?
>> >
>> > Thanks and regards
>> >
>> > Cliff
>> >
>>
>>
>>

Bart Stradmeijer
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Hi Al,

> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What router?
I have a Alcatel Speedtouch 510 router with software version 4.2.7.16.0
(updated from version 4.0.0.9.0)

> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
Yes
> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
Yes, a number of times.......
> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
Yes, I verified is at http://www.whatismyip.com/

The router settings are the same as advised at
http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm

The bottom line is that I checked the PC and the router and I still can't
connect to the XP machine via RD from the internet.

I suspect the XP-machine denies access from the internet and allows lan
access. Is this possible? As you can read below all the firewalls are shut
down or deinstalled, so I don't have any idea what is blocking the
communication.
Is it possible XP doesn't communicatie with certain routers?

Do you have any clues?

gts Bart

=================================

"Sooner Al [MVP]" <SoonerAl@somewhere.net.invalid> schreef in bericht
news:OeADJXYeFHA.2556@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What router?
> With that information perhaps someone can help with specific
instructions...
>
> http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm
>
> To test this you must be using a remote PC and *NOT* a local PC calling
the
> public IP of the router.
>
> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
>
> Have you tried the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP PC for both
> TCP Port 3389 (RDP) and TCP Port 5900 (VNC)? Does the test report the
> correct static IP for the router (as assigned by your ISP)? If you get a
> timeout then its back to the router issue...
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
> benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights...
>
>
> "Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
> news:42bd502a$0$768$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> > Hi,
> >
> > I have problems setting up RD on a computer running Windows XP
> > professional
> > over the internet while everything works fine over lan. This is the same
> > for
> > VNC. On Windows 2000 computers vnc works fine.
> >
> > I have gone through the page
> >
http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html
> > with the following results:
> >
> > 1) Firewall is turned off (windows and other software firewalls, on my
> > router NAT is turned on).
> > 2) In NAT on the router de ports TCP 3389 (RD) and TCP 5900 (VNC) are
> > forwarded.
> > 3) My ISP has assigned a static IP.
> > 4) Logging Remote Desktop Connection information > only local logons
asre
> > found (lan), remote (internet) logons are not found in the log.
> > 5) Port reporter > the same as 4)
> > 6) Netstat shows that the ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
> > 7) Port qwery> Local IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened
> > to.
> > Internet IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are
being
> > filtered.
> > Internet IP address: other ports are blocked.
> > 8) IPconfig information: comparing ipconfig information between the XP
and
> > the 2000 machine I see that IP routing and win-proxy are enabled on the
XP
> > machine and not on the 2000 machine.
> >
> > I have had the same problems on a XP home machine (with VNC and not RD),
> > which was not resolved.
> >
> > It looks like RD and VNC are functioning well on the XP machine in een
> > lan-setting. VNC is working fine on W2000 machines in a LAN en internet
> > setting. XP with VNC and RD in a internet setting just want to work
> > properly. What am I doing wrong?
> >
> > gts Bart
> >
> >
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
So did you run the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the PC your trying
to connect through the router?

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
news:42c1ba79$0$764$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> Hi Al,
>
>> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What router?
> I have a Alcatel Speedtouch 510 router with software version 4.2.7.16.0
> (updated from version 4.0.0.9.0)
>
>> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
> Yes
>> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
> Yes, a number of times.......
>> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
> Yes, I verified is at http://www.whatismyip.com/
>
> The router settings are the same as advised at
> http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm
>
> The bottom line is that I checked the PC and the router and I still can't
> connect to the XP machine via RD from the internet.
>
> I suspect the XP-machine denies access from the internet and allows lan
> access. Is this possible? As you can read below all the firewalls are shut
> down or deinstalled, so I don't have any idea what is blocking the
> communication.
> Is it possible XP doesn't communicatie with certain routers?
>
> Do you have any clues?
>
> gts Bart
>
> =================================
>
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" <SoonerAl@somewhere.net.invalid> schreef in bericht
> news:OeADJXYeFHA.2556@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What router?
>> With that information perhaps someone can help with specific
> instructions...
>>
>> http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm
>>
>> To test this you must be using a remote PC and *NOT* a local PC calling
> the
>> public IP of the router.
>>
>> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
>> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
>> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
>>
>> Have you tried the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP PC for
>> both
>> TCP Port 3389 (RDP) and TCP Port 5900 (VNC)? Does the test report the
>> correct static IP for the router (as assigned by your ISP)? If you get a
>> timeout then its back to the router issue...
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
>> benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>> rights...
>>
>>
>> "Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
>> news:42bd502a$0$768$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
>> > Hi,
>> >
>> > I have problems setting up RD on a computer running Windows XP
>> > professional
>> > over the internet while everything works fine over lan. This is the
>> > same
>> > for
>> > VNC. On Windows 2000 computers vnc works fine.
>> >
>> > I have gone through the page
>> >
> http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html
>> > with the following results:
>> >
>> > 1) Firewall is turned off (windows and other software firewalls, on my
>> > router NAT is turned on).
>> > 2) In NAT on the router de ports TCP 3389 (RD) and TCP 5900 (VNC) are
>> > forwarded.
>> > 3) My ISP has assigned a static IP.
>> > 4) Logging Remote Desktop Connection information > only local logons
> asre
>> > found (lan), remote (internet) logons are not found in the log.
>> > 5) Port reporter > the same as 4)
>> > 6) Netstat shows that the ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
>> > 7) Port qwery> Local IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened
>> > to.
>> > Internet IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are
> being
>> > filtered.
>> > Internet IP address: other ports are blocked.
>> > 8) IPconfig information: comparing ipconfig information between the XP
> and
>> > the 2000 machine I see that IP routing and win-proxy are enabled on the
> XP
>> > machine and not on the 2000 machine.
>> >
>> > I have had the same problems on a XP home machine (with VNC and not
>> > RD),
>> > which was not resolved.
>> >
>> > It looks like RD and VNC are functioning well on the XP machine in een
>> > lan-setting. VNC is working fine on W2000 machines in a LAN en internet
>> > setting. XP with VNC and RD in a internet setting just want to work
>> > properly. What am I doing wrong?
>> >
>> > gts Bart
>> >

Bart Stradmeijer
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Hi Al,

I ran the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP-PC for the ports 3389,
5910 (forwarded to 5900) and 5810 (forwarded to 5800) with a time out error
as result. The test on a W2000-PC for the ports 21, 5900 and 5800 was
succesful. The type of settings on the router were the same.

Any clues?

gts Bart
==============================
"Sooner Al [MVP]" <SoonerAl@somewhere.net.invalid> schreef in bericht
news:e$sj1jDfFHA.3448@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> So did you run the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the PC your trying
> to connect through the router?
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
> benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights...
>
>
> "Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
> news:42c1ba79$0$764$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> > Hi Al,
> >
> >> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What
router?
> > I have a Alcatel Speedtouch 510 router with software version 4.2.7.16.0
> > (updated from version 4.0.0.9.0)
> >
> >> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
> > Yes
> >> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
> > Yes, a number of times.......
> >> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
> > Yes, I verified is at http://www.whatismyip.com/
> >
> > The router settings are the same as advised at
> > http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm
> >
> > The bottom line is that I checked the PC and the router and I still
can't
> > connect to the XP machine via RD from the internet.
> >
> > I suspect the XP-machine denies access from the internet and allows lan
> > access. Is this possible? As you can read below all the firewalls are
shut
> > down or deinstalled, so I don't have any idea what is blocking the
> > communication.
> > Is it possible XP doesn't communicatie with certain routers?
> >
> > Do you have any clues?
> >
> > gts Bart
> >
> > =================================
> >
> > "Sooner Al [MVP]" <SoonerAl@somewhere.net.invalid> schreef in bericht
> > news:OeADJXYeFHA.2556@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> >> Well, it comes down to a router and port forwarding issue... What
router?
> >> With that information perhaps someone can help with specific
> > instructions...
> >>
> >> http://www.portforward.com/routers.htm
> >>
> >> To test this you must be using a remote PC and *NOT* a local PC calling
> > the
> >> public IP of the router.
> >>
> >> Are you running the newest firmware in the router?
> >> Have you tried a power off/on reset of the router?
> >> Are you calling the correct public IP of the router?
> >>
> >> Have you tried the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP PC for
> >> both
> >> TCP Port 3389 (RDP) and TCP Port 5900 (VNC)? Does the test report the
> >> correct static IP for the router (as assigned by your ISP)? If you get
a
> >> timeout then its back to the router issue...
> >>
> >> --
> >>
> >> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
> >>
> >> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the
mutual
> >> benefit of all of us...
> >> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> >> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> >> rights...
> >>
> >>
> >> "Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
> >> news:42bd502a$0$768$3a628fcd@reader10.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> >> > Hi,
> >> >
> >> > I have problems setting up RD on a computer running Windows XP
> >> > professional
> >> > over the internet while everything works fine over lan. This is the
> >> > same
> >> > for
> >> > VNC. On Windows 2000 computers vnc works fine.
> >> >
> >> > I have gone through the page
> >> >
> >
http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html
> >> > with the following results:
> >> >
> >> > 1) Firewall is turned off (windows and other software firewalls, on
my
> >> > router NAT is turned on).
> >> > 2) In NAT on the router de ports TCP 3389 (RD) and TCP 5900 (VNC) are
> >> > forwarded.
> >> > 3) My ISP has assigned a static IP.
> >> > 4) Logging Remote Desktop Connection information > only local logons
> > asre
> >> > found (lan), remote (internet) logons are not found in the log.
> >> > 5) Port reporter > the same as 4)
> >> > 6) Netstat shows that the ports 3389 and 5900 are being listened to.
> >> > 7) Port qwery> Local IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are being
listened
> >> > to.
> >> > Internet IP address: ports 3389 and 5900 are
> > being
> >> > filtered.
> >> > Internet IP address: other ports are blocked.
> >> > 8) IPconfig information: comparing ipconfig information between the
XP
> > and
> >> > the 2000 machine I see that IP routing and win-proxy are enabled on
the
> > XP
> >> > machine and not on the 2000 machine.
> >> >
> >> > I have had the same problems on a XP home machine (with VNC and not
> >> > RD),
> >> > which was not resolved.
> >> >
> >> > It looks like RD and VNC are functioning well on the XP machine in
een
> >> > lan-setting. VNC is working fine on W2000 machines in a LAN en
internet
> >> > setting. XP with VNC and RD in a internet setting just want to work
> >> > properly. What am I doing wrong?
> >> >
> >> > gts Bart
> >> >
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Well, my old memory finally got into gear...

See this old thread from a while back. Its possible it may fix your
problem...

http://groups-beta.google.com/group/microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely/messages/594701225da9e729,a67d8ab118c36370,c987cee97431534d,7fcd7a60432ca829,cd39b930c97fc72e,f03b678a5f4a6a3d,25706322dacb2259?hl=en&thread_id=6bc536b273d55441&mode=thread&noheader=1&q=router+group:*.work_remotely+author:Sooner+author:Al&_done=%2Fgroup%2Fmicrosoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely%2Fbrowse_frm%2Fthread%2F6bc536b273d55441%2F25706322dacb2259%3Fq%3Drouter+group:*.work_remotely+author:Sooner+author:Al%26rnum%3D41%26hl%3Den%26#doc_594701225da9e729

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


"Bart Stradmeijer" <bart@stradmeijer.net> wrote in message
news:42c2b88f$0$774$3a628fcd@reader20.nntp.hccnet.nl...
> Hi Al,
>
> I ran the http://www.canyouseeme.org test from the XP-PC for the ports
> 3389,
> 5910 (forwarded to 5900) and 5810 (forwarded to 5800) with a time out
> error
> as result. The test on a W2000-PC for the ports 21, 5900 and 5800 was
> succesful. The type of settings on the router were the same.
>
> Any clues?
>
> gts Bart
>


RD works via lan but not via internet