Intermittent problem connecting with Remote Desktop



teddysnips@hotmail.com
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
I wish to work from home sometimes. So, I leave my work PC on when I
leave at night. My work PC is XP Pro SP2, my home PC is W2k.

This morning I tried to connect using Remote Desktop. I could see my
work desktop login for a second or two, then it would just bomb out. I
tried again and again. Sometimes I would get a "Network error"
message.

So, I came in to work. My PC is locked, as I'd expect (it is also set
to go into standby mode after 15 minutes). I unlocked it and began
working. When my wife called from home, I asked her to try to connect,
and she was able to connect with no problems.

So, it appears that if my work PC is active and unlocked, I can connect
from home. If it is on standby (and/or locked), I cannot. Does this
sound right?

TIA

Edward

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
If its in standby you need to look at using Wake-On-LAN to wake it up...

http://www.michna.com/kb/WxWOL.htm

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights...


<teddysnips@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:1119519696.464277.302860@o13g2000cwo.googlegroups.com...
>I wish to work from home sometimes. So, I leave my work PC on when I
> leave at night. My work PC is XP Pro SP2, my home PC is W2k.
>
> This morning I tried to connect using Remote Desktop. I could see my
> work desktop login for a second or two, then it would just bomb out. I
> tried again and again. Sometimes I would get a "Network error"
> message.
>
> So, I came in to work. My PC is locked, as I'd expect (it is also set
> to go into standby mode after 15 minutes). I unlocked it and began
> working. When my wife called from home, I asked her to try to connect,
> and she was able to connect with no problems.
>
> So, it appears that if my work PC is active and unlocked, I can connect
> from home. If it is on standby (and/or locked), I cannot. Does this
> sound right?
>
> TIA
>
> Edward
>

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Hi,

I've run into some issues with this. It commonly occurs if the use fully
logs out, the RD access is denied. If left logged in, even if the station is
locked, the RD access works ok. Haven't been able to bug it out yet, so as a
workaround I leave the target account logged on, but with the station
locked.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

<teddysnips@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:1119519696.464277.302860@o13g2000cwo.googlegroups.com...
>I wish to work from home sometimes. So, I leave my work PC on when I
> leave at night. My work PC is XP Pro SP2, my home PC is W2k.
>
> This morning I tried to connect using Remote Desktop. I could see my
> work desktop login for a second or two, then it would just bomb out. I
> tried again and again. Sometimes I would get a "Network error"
> message.
>
> So, I came in to work. My PC is locked, as I'd expect (it is also set
> to go into standby mode after 15 minutes). I unlocked it and began
> working. When my wife called from home, I asked her to try to connect,
> and she was able to connect with no problems.
>
> So, it appears that if my work PC is active and unlocked, I can connect
> from home. If it is on standby (and/or locked), I cannot. Does this
> sound right?
>
> TIA
>
> Edward
>

Robin Walker [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
teddysnips@hotmail.com wrote:

> So, it appears that if my work PC is active and unlocked, I can
> connect from home. If it is on standby (and/or locked), I cannot.

If either your processor ("system") or your NIC has gone into standby, then
you cannot make incoming connections.

It does not matter whether or not your monitor has gone into standby.

Check your control panel Power Options. Set "System standby" and "System
hibernates" to "Never".

--
Robin Walker [MVP Networking]
rdhw@cam.ac.uk

Robin Walker [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Rick "Nutcase" Rogers <rick@mvps.org> wrote:

> I've run into some issues with this. It commonly occurs if the use
> fully logs out, the RD access is denied. If left logged in, even if
> the station is locked, the RD access works ok.

This is usually a video driver problem on the RDC server. Update your video
drivers with the latest version from the website of the manufacturer.

--
Robin Walker [MVP Networking]
rdhw@cam.ac.uk

teddysnips@hotmail.com
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Thanks for all your suggestions. WakeOnLan worked a treat.

Edward


Intermittent problem connecting with Remote Desktop