Accessing various pc's on one router via Remote Desktop



davenetman@yahoo.com
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
I have 3 pc's at home, all running WinXP Pro, all connected thru a
router. I'm just now playing around with Remote Desktop, I can connect
from my work pc to my 'main' home desktop using the router ip address.
My question, is there a way I can connect to my 2nd & 3rd pc also from
work?

Thanks, Dave

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Various options available...

I use the SSH method...

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/SSH-RDP-VNC/RemoteDesktopVNCandSSH.html

You can also use a VPN tunnel...

http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_vpn_server.htm
http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_vpn.htm

....or...

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/Multiple_PC_RD.html

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


<davenetman@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:1119004991.740141.193150@g49g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
>I have 3 pc's at home, all running WinXP Pro, all connected thru a
> router. I'm just now playing around with Remote Desktop, I can connect
> from my work pc to my 'main' home desktop using the router ip address.
> My question, is there a way I can connect to my 2nd & 3rd pc also from
> work?
>
> Thanks, Dave
>

Jim
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
I'm guessing you opened the RDP port on your router and forwarded to your
main PC. You could open other ports and forward them to the other PCs or you
can start another remote desktop in your main PC and connect to the other
systems behind your router.

Jim

"davenetman@yahoo.com" wrote:

> I have 3 pc's at home, all running WinXP Pro, all connected thru a
> router. I'm just now playing around with Remote Desktop, I can connect
> from my work pc to my 'main' home desktop using the router ip address.
> My question, is there a way I can connect to my 2nd & 3rd pc also from
> work?
>
> Thanks, Dave
>
>

davenetman@yahoo.com
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Jim wrote:
> I'm guessing you opened the RDP port on your router and forwarded to your
> main PC. You could open other ports and forward them to the other PCs...

I think this may be the way to go, as I cannot install additional
programs on my work pc, or change settings that take admin rights. You
are correct, I opened/forwarded port 3389 to my main pc. So if I, say
for example, open/forward port 3390 to my 2nd pc, how would I tell my
work pc to RDP connect thru 3390?

Thanks again, Dave

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/Multiple_PC_RD.html

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


<davenetman@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:1119094433.926106.15910@g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> Jim wrote:
>> I'm guessing you opened the RDP port on your router and forwarded to your
>> main PC. You could open other ports and forward them to the other PCs...
>
> I think this may be the way to go, as I cannot install additional
> programs on my work pc, or change settings that take admin rights. You
> are correct, I opened/forwarded port 3389 to my main pc. So if I, say
> for example, open/forward port 3390 to my 2nd pc, how would I tell my
> work pc to RDP connect thru 3390?
>
> Thanks again, Dave
>

Pavel
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
There is an alternate to what Sooner A1 pointed out in his link but only if
your router has this ability. Specifically, I am referring to Linksys
routers that have an interesting feature that let's you access the router
remotely. If you have Linksys, or a router that has similar capability then
you can log in to the router and modify the port forwarding IP address of
the local PC you wish to access. This way, all PC can be set with out having
to do any changes to the registry.
This will only work if you have a static IP address and again, even if you
have dynamic IP, Linksys Routers(more recent versions) and probably some
others have a built in feature that can broadcast the dynamic address to one
of the free dynamic dns services such as DynDNS.org that can the give you
the current IP of your router.
Even further, there is a custom driver available on one of the Linksys
wireless Routers that can even turn any PC connected to it on.

--
Pavel


"Sooner Al [MVP]" <SoonerAl@somewhere.net.invalid> wrote in message
news:OiiiRRAdFHA.3144@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/Multiple_PC_RD.html
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
> benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
> rights...
>
>
> <davenetman@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:1119094433.926106.15910@g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
>> Jim wrote:
>>> I'm guessing you opened the RDP port on your router and forwarded to
>>> your
>>> main PC. You could open other ports and forward them to the other
>>> PCs...
>>
>> I think this may be the way to go, as I cannot install additional
>> programs on my work pc, or change settings that take admin rights. You
>> are correct, I opened/forwarded port 3389 to my main pc. So if I, say
>> for example, open/forward port 3390 to my 2nd pc, how would I tell my
>> work pc to RDP connect thru 3390?
>>
>> Thanks again, Dave
>>
>
>


Accessing various pc's on one router via Remote Desktop