Remote Shutdown does not work



Andy
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Hi All,

I am trying to shutdown any pc on the network. I have 5 machine connected on
the network with remote desktop set on all of them. With Net view I can see
all the computers but I cannot shut down any computer remotely by using
synrax
shutdown -m \\ComputerName. Can someone please help me identifying my problem.

Thanks
Andy

Nepatsfan
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Andy wrote:
> Hi All,
>
> I am trying to shutdown any pc on the network. I have 5
> machine connected on the network with remote desktop set on
> all of them. With Net view I can see all the computers but I
> cannot shut down any computer remotely by using synrax
> shutdown -m \\ComputerName. Can someone please help me
> identifying my problem.
>
> Thanks
> Andy

Try shutdown -s -m \\ComputerName

Nepatsfan

Andy
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Thanks but now it gives me an error saying "The network path was not found"

"Nepatsfan" wrote:

> Andy wrote:
> > Hi All,
> >
> > I am trying to shutdown any pc on the network. I have 5
> > machine connected on the network with remote desktop set on
> > all of them. With Net view I can see all the computers but I
> > cannot shut down any computer remotely by using synrax
> > shutdown -m \\ComputerName. Can someone please help me
> > identifying my problem.
> >
> > Thanks
> > Andy
>
> Try shutdown -s -m \\ComputerName
>
> Nepatsfan
>
>
>

Nepatsfan
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Then either your network isn't setup properly or a firewall is
misconfigured. Start your troubleshooting with the basics
(pinging each computer, accessing shared resources). Look in My
Network Places and click on "View workgroup computers". Do all
the machines on your network show up? What happens when you
double click each of them?

If you're using the built-in Windows firewall make sure that
File and Printer sharing is enabled. If you're using a third
party firewall consult the documentation for instructions on
how to allow access from your LAN.

Keep in mind that if you can use Remote Desktop to connect to
each of the computers on your network then you can run Task
Manager on the remote computer and select Shutdown from the
toolbar. Select Turn Off from the drop down menu.

Nepatsfan

Andy wrote:
> Thanks but now it gives me an error saying "The network path
> was not found"
>
> "Nepatsfan" wrote:
>
>> Andy wrote:
>>> Hi All,
>>>
>>> I am trying to shutdown any pc on the network. I have 5
>>> machine connected on the network with remote desktop set on
>>> all of them. With Net view I can see all the computers but
>>> I cannot shut down any computer remotely by using synrax
>>> shutdown -m \\ComputerName. Can someone please help me
>>> identifying my problem.
>>>
>>> Thanks
>>> Andy
>>
>> Try shutdown -s -m \\ComputerName
>>
>> Nepatsfan

Andy
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Thanks Nepatsfan, I checked Everything you mentioned and all was set fine.
After doing little more research on google I found that the registry entry on
local machine on conrol set ForcedGuest to set to value 0 instead of 1.
I am not sure if there is any other security risk. But its working for now.

Thanks for your help
Andy

"Nepatsfan" wrote:

> Then either your network isn't setup properly or a firewall is
> misconfigured. Start your troubleshooting with the basics
> (pinging each computer, accessing shared resources). Look in My
> Network Places and click on "View workgroup computers". Do all
> the machines on your network show up? What happens when you
> double click each of them?
>
> If you're using the built-in Windows firewall make sure that
> File and Printer sharing is enabled. If you're using a third
> party firewall consult the documentation for instructions on
> how to allow access from your LAN.
>
> Keep in mind that if you can use Remote Desktop to connect to
> each of the computers on your network then you can run Task
> Manager on the remote computer and select Shutdown from the
> toolbar. Select Turn Off from the drop down menu.
>
> Nepatsfan
>
> Andy wrote:
> > Thanks but now it gives me an error saying "The network path
> > was not found"
> >
> > "Nepatsfan" wrote:
> >
> >> Andy wrote:
> >>> Hi All,
> >>>
> >>> I am trying to shutdown any pc on the network. I have 5
> >>> machine connected on the network with remote desktop set on
> >>> all of them. With Net view I can see all the computers but
> >>> I cannot shut down any computer remotely by using synrax
> >>> shutdown -m \\ComputerName. Can someone please help me
> >>> identifying my problem.
> >>>
> >>> Thanks
> >>> Andy
> >>
> >> Try shutdown -s -m \\ComputerName
> >>
> >> Nepatsfan
>
>
>
>
>
>

Nepatsfan
07-09-2005, 11:10 PM
Andy wrote:
> Thanks Nepatsfan, I checked Everything you mentioned and all
> was set fine. After doing little more research on google I
> found that the registry entry on local machine on conrol set
> ForcedGuest to set to value 0 instead of 1.
> I am not sure if there is any other security risk. But its
> working for now.
>
> Thanks for your help
> Andy

Glad to hear you've got that fixed.

Nepatsfan


Remote Shutdown does not work