I don't get it



Tamie
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
there? Or can someone translate?

confused
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
i understand the guides but aint figured out how to beat the info into the pc

"Tamie" wrote:

> I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
> there? Or can someone translate?

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
This page may help...

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
> there? Or can someone translate?

Fitz
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
You have to be running XP Pro on the target machine.
You have to install IIS
Make sure IIS points to your tsweb folder
You have to enable Remote Desktop Connection
Your firewall must pass ports 80 and 3389 to the target machine
You need to know your public IP in order to connect

Let us know if more help is needed.

"Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but
> I
> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version
> out
> there? Or can someone translate?

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
You only need to install/configure/use IIS if you want to use the web based method of Remote
Desktop... Note that this adds a bit of complexity to the connection and if used over the public
internet can be insecure. Also note that some ISPs block TCP Port 80 (IIS) because running a web
server on a home PC for access from the public internet violated the terms of service/agreement for
home users...

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"Fitz" <SENDNOMAIL@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:rgnle.607$az3.179792@twister.southeast.rr.com...
> You have to be running XP Pro on the target machine.
> You have to install IIS
> Make sure IIS points to your tsweb folder
> You have to enable Remote Desktop Connection
> Your firewall must pass ports 80 and 3389 to the target machine
> You need to know your public IP in order to connect
>
> Let us know if more help is needed.
>
> "Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
>>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
>> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
>> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
>> there? Or can someone translate?
>
>

Tamie
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
You dealing with someone who has zero knowledge of this stuff. What is IIS?

Do you recommend another method?

What I need this for is a job. I applied for a job and the boss said that
she is willing to let me work from home if I can figure out how to connect to
her computer. It can't be too complicated or neither of us will be able to do
it.

Tamie
"Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:

> You only need to install/configure/use IIS if you want to use the web based method of Remote
> Desktop... Note that this adds a bit of complexity to the connection and if used over the public
> internet can be insecure. Also note that some ISPs block TCP Port 80 (IIS) because running a web
> server on a home PC for access from the public internet violated the terms of service/agreement for
> home users...
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>
>
> "Fitz" <SENDNOMAIL@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:rgnle.607$az3.179792@twister.southeast.rr.com...
> > You have to be running XP Pro on the target machine.
> > You have to install IIS
> > Make sure IIS points to your tsweb folder
> > You have to enable Remote Desktop Connection
> > Your firewall must pass ports 80 and 3389 to the target machine
> > You need to know your public IP in order to connect
> >
> > Let us know if more help is needed.
> >
> > "Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
> >>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
> >> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
> >> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
> >> there? Or can someone translate?
> >
> >
>
>
>

Fitz
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
IIS is Internet Information Services. You need to enable this if you're
going to use a web browser to connect to your work computer. If all you are
going to use is the Remote Desktop Client to connect to your work computer,
then you don't need to enable IIS or port 80. This is probably the way to
go.

Find out if your work computer is XP Pro. If so, make sure your boss will
allow connections through the firewall at work. She (or somebody) will need
to enable port 3389 in the firewall (I assume she has a firewall at least on
the computer) to pass through to the computer at work because Remote Desktop
uses that port to connect with. If all is OK so far, you will need to know
the public IP address for the computer you are trying to connect to...as an
example: http://65.56.146.140.

You should be set to go. Once you get it set up, it's a snap. Personally I
like using Remote Desktop. Keep us posted.


"Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F0DDC87C-1635-48C4-829F-5B7CA52D8CE3@microsoft.com...
> You dealing with someone who has zero knowledge of this stuff. What is
> IIS?
>
> Do you recommend another method?
>
> What I need this for is a job. I applied for a job and the boss said that
> she is willing to let me work from home if I can figure out how to connect
> to
> her computer. It can't be too complicated or neither of us will be able to
> do
> it.
>
> Tamie
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> You only need to install/configure/use IIS if you want to use the web
>> based method of Remote
>> Desktop... Note that this adds a bit of complexity to the connection and
>> if used over the public
>> internet can be insecure. Also note that some ISPs block TCP Port 80
>> (IIS) because running a web
>> server on a home PC for access from the public internet violated the
>> terms of service/agreement for
>> home users...
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual
>> benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
>> rights...
>>
>>
>> "Fitz" <SENDNOMAIL@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:rgnle.607$az3.179792@twister.southeast.rr.com...
>> > You have to be running XP Pro on the target machine.
>> > You have to install IIS
>> > Make sure IIS points to your tsweb folder
>> > You have to enable Remote Desktop Connection
>> > Your firewall must pass ports 80 and 3389 to the target machine
>> > You need to know your public IP in order to connect
>> >
>> > Let us know if more help is needed.
>> >
>> > "Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> > news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
>> >>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It
>> >>is
>> >> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it
>> >> but I
>> >> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies"
>> >> version out
>> >> there? Or can someone translate?
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
If you and your prospective boss need to work on her PC/share her PC simultaneously then Remote
Desktop is not the solution. Remote Desktop only allows one person at a time to logon to an XP Pro
PC, presuming your prospective boss is running XP Pro on her PC.

You really need to explain, in some detail...

* what you want to accomplish
* what operating system your bosses PC is running
* what operating system your PC is running
* do you need to logon to your bosses PC at the same time she is working on it
* do you only need to grab files from your bosses PC occasionally
* etc...etc...etc...

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F0DDC87C-1635-48C4-829F-5B7CA52D8CE3@microsoft.com...
> You dealing with someone who has zero knowledge of this stuff. What is IIS?
>
> Do you recommend another method?
>
> What I need this for is a job. I applied for a job and the boss said that
> she is willing to let me work from home if I can figure out how to connect to
> her computer. It can't be too complicated or neither of us will be able to do
> it.
>
> Tamie
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> You only need to install/configure/use IIS if you want to use the web based method of Remote
>> Desktop... Note that this adds a bit of complexity to the connection and if used over the public
>> internet can be insecure. Also note that some ISPs block TCP Port 80 (IIS) because running a web
>> server on a home PC for access from the public internet violated the terms of service/agreement
>> for
>> home users...
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>>
>>
>> "Fitz" <SENDNOMAIL@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:rgnle.607$az3.179792@twister.southeast.rr.com...
>> > You have to be running XP Pro on the target machine.
>> > You have to install IIS
>> > Make sure IIS points to your tsweb folder
>> > You have to enable Remote Desktop Connection
>> > Your firewall must pass ports 80 and 3389 to the target machine
>> > You need to know your public IP in order to connect
>> >
>> > Let us know if more help is needed.
>> >
>> > "Tamie" <Tamie@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> > news:9BE4446E-D4D8-45FC-8C98-EDFCCAEDACBA@microsoft.com...
>> >>I completely do not understand how to set up and run Remote Desktop. It is
>> >> installed. I looked up in the help section how to set it up and run it but I
>> >> don't understand what any of it means. Is there a "for dummies" version out
>> >> there? Or can someone translate?
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>


I don't get it