How can I overriding the 'RDP Audio Driver' in favour of remote machine's local sound card?



Peter
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Via Remote Desktop I want to run a media playback app on the remote
machine and utilise its local sound card.

However, Remote Desktop replaces any sound card drivers with its own
RDP Audio Driver.

Does anybody know of a workaround that will stop Remote Desktop
intercepting and blocking access to the remote machine's local sound
card?

ChuMaiFat
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Peter wrote:
> Via Remote Desktop I want to run a media playback app on the remote
> machine and utilise its local sound card.
>
> However, Remote Desktop replaces any sound card drivers with its own
> RDP Audio Driver.
>
> Does anybody know of a workaround that will stop Remote Desktop
> intercepting and blocking access to the remote machine's local sound
> card?
>

I'd be interested in the solution to this myself after having wrestled
with the problem for the past week.

Unfortunately, I do not have an unlimited amount of time (and I'm not
smart enough!) so I gave up and installed a free vnc server on the
remote (wireless, headless) machine which is connected to an amp in the
lounge and then installed a vnc viewer on my main PC. It took about 5
minutes.

Now when I connect, I can start up winamp or nero on the remote machine
and utilise the sound card in the remote machine to play mp3's through
the amp. Works well, even with all the mp3's that are stored on the main PC.

Regards

Chu

Peter
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Thanks for the advice. I downloaded the Real VNC client & server from
http://www.realvnc.com/

....as you said, trivial to install and works just like Microsoft's
Remote Desktop - only leaves the sound at the server, where I want it
to stay.


How can I overriding the 'RDP Audio Driver' in favour of remote machine's local sound card?