RDC and DUN



yellowbeard
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
just fine. What else can I check?

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Any error message(s) in the event log that may be of interest?

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6D919AE6-B525-4544-B311-7723890C61E6@microsoft.com...
>I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
> the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
> that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
> cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
> just fine. What else can I check?

yellowbeard
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Nothing that looks important. The only thing I see is in the "System" log.
Event 14, the source is W32Time and the error says "The time provider
NtpClient was unable to find a domain controller to use as a time source.
NtpClient will try again in 15 minutes." After that I get an event 29, "The
time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time
sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to
contact a source will be made for 14 minutes. NtpClient has no source of
accurate time."

It appears to be a time source issue. So how can I change this?



"Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:

> Any error message(s) in the event log that may be of interest?
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>
>
> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:6D919AE6-B525-4544-B311-7723890C61E6@microsoft.com...
> >I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
> > the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
> > that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
> > cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
> > just fine. What else can I check?
>
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
I doubt its a time sync issue...:-)

So, your dialing into a remote PC (PC1) acting as a RAS box, but when you try to connect with Remote
Desktop from PC2 you can't connect...but you can connect to the remote PC1 from another PC (PC3),
correct? Does PC2 also have a LAN card installed and is it connected to a LAN?

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:825D10B0-0D62-428F-A978-D5B051BAC3D8@microsoft.com...
> Nothing that looks important. The only thing I see is in the "System" log.
> Event 14, the source is W32Time and the error says "The time provider
> NtpClient was unable to find a domain controller to use as a time source.
> NtpClient will try again in 15 minutes." After that I get an event 29, "The
> time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time
> sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to
> contact a source will be made for 14 minutes. NtpClient has no source of
> accurate time."
>
> It appears to be a time source issue. So how can I change this?
>
>
>
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> Any error message(s) in the event log that may be of interest?
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>>
>>
>> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:6D919AE6-B525-4544-B311-7723890C61E6@microsoft.com...
>> >I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
>> > the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
>> > that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
>> > cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
>> > just fine. What else can I check?
>>
>>
>>

yellowbeard
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
That is correct, PC3 can connect but PC2 cannot. I do have a LAN card but I
disable it prior to attempting the RAS connection. It has to be a registry
setting or firewall setting or something simple. Both PC2 and PC3 are IBM
Thinkpads with the same load. When I connect, I can see in the system tray
the icon for the dial up network, my side seems to be sending packets but I
never see any activity coming from the other end.

"Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:

> I doubt its a time sync issue...:-)
>
> So, your dialing into a remote PC (PC1) acting as a RAS box, but when you try to connect with Remote
> Desktop from PC2 you can't connect...but you can connect to the remote PC1 from another PC (PC3),
> correct? Does PC2 also have a LAN card installed and is it connected to a LAN?
>
> --
>
> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>
> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>
>
> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:825D10B0-0D62-428F-A978-D5B051BAC3D8@microsoft.com...
> > Nothing that looks important. The only thing I see is in the "System" log.
> > Event 14, the source is W32Time and the error says "The time provider
> > NtpClient was unable to find a domain controller to use as a time source.
> > NtpClient will try again in 15 minutes." After that I get an event 29, "The
> > time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time
> > sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to
> > contact a source will be made for 14 minutes. NtpClient has no source of
> > accurate time."
> >
> > It appears to be a time source issue. So how can I change this?
> >
> >
> >
> > "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
> >
> >> Any error message(s) in the event log that may be of interest?
> >>
> >> --
> >>
> >> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
> >>
> >> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
> >> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
> >> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
> >>
> >>
> >> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:6D919AE6-B525-4544-B311-7723890C61E6@microsoft.com...
> >> >I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
> >> > the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
> >> > that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
> >> > cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
> >> > just fine. What else can I check?
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
So the event log on the PC1 (the RAS box) shows no login attempts? See the logging section on this
page...

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html

Is there anyway to remove the wired Ethernet card from PC2, reboot the PC2 and repeat the dial-in
and RD connection attempt? It almost sounds to me like its a routing issue...

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8C955FCB-C97C-43D8-A0E8-C84AE82CCD15@microsoft.com...
> That is correct, PC3 can connect but PC2 cannot. I do have a LAN card but I
> disable it prior to attempting the RAS connection. It has to be a registry
> setting or firewall setting or something simple. Both PC2 and PC3 are IBM
> Thinkpads with the same load. When I connect, I can see in the system tray
> the icon for the dial up network, my side seems to be sending packets but I
> never see any activity coming from the other end.
>
> "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> I doubt its a time sync issue...:-)
>>
>> So, your dialing into a remote PC (PC1) acting as a RAS box, but when you try to connect with
>> Remote
>> Desktop from PC2 you can't connect...but you can connect to the remote PC1 from another PC (PC3),
>> correct? Does PC2 also have a LAN card installed and is it connected to a LAN?
>>
>> --
>>
>> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>>
>> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
>> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>>
>> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:825D10B0-0D62-428F-A978-D5B051BAC3D8@microsoft.com...
>> > Nothing that looks important. The only thing I see is in the "System" log.
>> > Event 14, the source is W32Time and the error says "The time provider
>> > NtpClient was unable to find a domain controller to use as a time source.
>> > NtpClient will try again in 15 minutes." After that I get an event 29, "The
>> > time provider NtpClient is configured to acquire time from one or more time
>> > sources, however none of the sources are currently accessible. No attempt to
>> > contact a source will be made for 14 minutes. NtpClient has no source of
>> > accurate time."
>> >
>> > It appears to be a time source issue. So how can I change this?
>> >
>> > "Sooner Al [MVP]" wrote:
>> >
>> >> Any error message(s) in the event log that may be of interest?
>> >>
>> >> --
>> >>
>> >> Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)
>> >>
>> >> Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of
>> >> us...
>> >> The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>> >> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> "yellowbeard" <yellowbeard@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> >> news:6D919AE6-B525-4544-B311-7723890C61E6@microsoft.com...
>> >> >I have Windows XP SP2. When I use dial up networking, I am able to connect to
>> >> > the remote system and get a DUN session established. But when I try to RDC to
>> >> > that IP address, I cannot connect. I have checked firewall settings and
>> >> > cannot find anything. I have another computer with the same load but it works
>> >> > just fine. What else can I check?
>> >>


RDC and DUN