Remote Desktop Problems



HobieSun
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
I have worked on this for about a month now and have pulled about 40% of my
hair out. To the best of my knowledge I have everything set up correctly. I
have an office computer with XP Pro (2) and a home computer with XP Pro (2).
The home computer is on a wireless router which to the best of my knowledge
has the correct ports forwarded. The office computer has a router with two
other computers on it. I have those ports forwarded. I have tried both IP
addresses, the one that the router assigns and the true IP address. It never
goes through. I never get to see the connection page. It always says cannot
find page or something like that. It is killing me.

Sooner Al [MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
See this page for troubleshooting help...

http://theillustratednetwork.mvps.org/RemoteDesktop/RemoteDesktopSetupandTroubleshooting.html

--

Al Jarvi (MS-MVP Windows Networking)

Please post *ALL* questions and replies to the news group for the mutual benefit of all of us...
The MS-MVP Program - http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights...


"HobieSun" <HobieSun@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A0930C51-8F75-40E2-A184-0869A0CBC4CB@microsoft.com...
>I have worked on this for about a month now and have pulled about 40% of my
> hair out. To the best of my knowledge I have everything set up correctly. I
> have an office computer with XP Pro (2) and a home computer with XP Pro (2).
> The home computer is on a wireless router which to the best of my knowledge
> has the correct ports forwarded. The office computer has a router with two
> other computers on it. I have those ports forwarded. I have tried both IP
> addresses, the one that the router assigns and the true IP address. It never
> goes through. I never get to see the connection page. It always says cannot
> find page or something like that. It is killing me.

PapaFrank
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
I like www.rethinkit.com for a simplified explanation .
It has proven helpful to me.

"HobieSun" <HobieSun@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A0930C51-8F75-40E2-A184-0869A0CBC4CB@microsoft.com...
>I have worked on this for about a month now and have pulled about 40% of my
> hair out. To the best of my knowledge I have everything set up correctly.
> I
> have an office computer with XP Pro (2) and a home computer with XP Pro
> (2).
> The home computer is on a wireless router which to the best of my
> knowledge
> has the correct ports forwarded. The office computer has a router with
> two
> other computers on it. I have those ports forwarded. I have tried both
> IP
> addresses, the one that the router assigns and the true IP address. It
> never
> goes through. I never get to see the connection page. It always says
> cannot
> find page or something like that. It is killing me.

skip
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Try turning off your firewall and see if that helps. If you can
connect, then you need to open those ports on your firewall.
Just a simple thought



On Tue, 24 May 2005 10:38:06 -0700, "HobieSun"
<HobieSun@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>I have worked on this for about a month now and have pulled about 40% of my
>hair out. To the best of my knowledge I have everything set up correctly. I
>have an office computer with XP Pro (2) and a home computer with XP Pro (2).
>The home computer is on a wireless router which to the best of my knowledge
>has the correct ports forwarded. The office computer has a router with two
>other computers on it. I have those ports forwarded. I have tried both IP
>addresses, the one that the router assigns and the true IP address. It never
>goes through. I never get to see the connection page. It always says cannot
>find page or something like that. It is killing me.


Remote Desktop Problems