xp sp2 broke shiva vpn client



Abel Chan
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
Hi all,

After I installed XP SP2, I have lots of problem with my VPN connection.

90% of the time, I have to connect and reconnect again in order to bring up
the Remote Desktop conection.

80% of the time, the connection will drop and I have to reconnect again.
Like above, I have to reconnect multiple times in order to make it work.

In all instances, the VPN client shown that I have connected to the tunnel
and also got an IP address. However, the connection is actually not there.
I cannot access any network drive and I can't bring up Remote Desktop.

I have shiva vpn client verison 8.42p1. Any one has the same issue? Please
help!!!

BTW, if I remove SP2, it works like a charm. :)

Thanks.

Abel

Robert L [MS-MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
Do you have DSL line? If yes, you may need to modify MTU.
For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.

Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.

"Abel Chan" <awong@newsgroup.nospam> wrote in message news:EDB610FC-0852-4F8A-8DEF-F7BE8E16D9D1@microsoft.com...
Hi all,

After I installed XP SP2, I have lots of problem with my VPN connection.

90% of the time, I have to connect and reconnect again in order to bring up
the Remote Desktop conection.

80% of the time, the connection will drop and I have to reconnect again.
Like above, I have to reconnect multiple times in order to make it work.

In all instances, the VPN client shown that I have connected to the tunnel
and also got an IP address. However, the connection is actually not there.
I cannot access any network drive and I can't bring up Remote Desktop.

I have shiva vpn client verison 8.42p1. Any one has the same issue? Please
help!!!

BTW, if I remove SP2, it works like a charm. :)

Thanks.

Abel

Abel Chan
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
Hi Robert,

Thanks to your quick reply.

I have Comcast cable. BTW, I don't have the same issue before XP SP2.

Thanks.

Abel

"Robert L [MS-MVP]" wrote:

> Do you have DSL line? If yes, you may need to modify MTU.
> For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.
>
> Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.
>
> "Abel Chan" <awong@newsgroup.nospam> wrote in message news:EDB610FC-0852-4F8A-8DEF-F7BE8E16D9D1@microsoft.com...
> Hi all,
>
> After I installed XP SP2, I have lots of problem with my VPN connection.
>
> 90% of the time, I have to connect and reconnect again in order to bring up
> the Remote Desktop conection.
>
> 80% of the time, the connection will drop and I have to reconnect again.
> Like above, I have to reconnect multiple times in order to make it work.
>
> In all instances, the VPN client shown that I have connected to the tunnel
> and also got an IP address. However, the connection is actually not there.
> I cannot access any network drive and I can't bring up Remote Desktop.
>
> I have shiva vpn client verison 8.42p1. Any one has the same issue? Please
> help!!!
>
> BTW, if I remove SP2, it works like a charm. :)
>
> Thanks

Robert L [MS-MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
I still believe it is MTU issue. I am copying tow cases for your review. quoted from http://www.ChicagoTech.net

Case Study – VPN Connection issues after installed Windows server 2003 SP1
Situation: The client has been experiencing some VPN connection issues after they installed Windows Server 2003 SP1. The main office has T1 line. The branch office uses DSL line and some home users who are using DSL too. They can establish the VPN, but they experience these issues:

1.. The connection may drop in 2 or 3 minutes.
2.. The VPN client may receive "The Network name is no longer available" message when they transfer the data.
3.. The RDC to TS may have black screen.
Resolution: Set my VPN client MTU to 1400.

To modify MTU, please refer to this page, How to change MTU settings for PPP or VPN.

Related Topics

Connectivity issues after ms05-019 and 2003 sp1
Can't access some web sites

Case Study - Black screen when RDP over VPN
Situation: The client has a site-to-site VPN setup with two Sonicwall firewall. It works fine. He can ping anything on the remote sites and vice versa.

Problem: When he tries to RDP to the server he gets the blank screen and the banner at the top, but the log in window never appears and it eventually times out and says broken network connection.

Troubleshooting: Since this is DSL line, we suspect this is MTU issue. So, we use this commend "ping -l 1500 -f IP address" to test it. We receive "Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set" and "Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss)". That confirms that is MTU issues.

Resolution: Use the ping to test and lower MTU. Finally, We reduce MTU from 1500 to 1400 in the SonicWall. Then he can use RDC over VPN.

Related Topics

How to change MTU
Connectivity issues after ms05-019 and 2003 sp1
Troubleshooting terminal server issues
VPN drop connection
VPN slow issues


Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.

"Abel Chan" <awong@newsgroup.nospam> wrote in message news:858C8640-8322-4AAD-B4BF-F8A1C1F18185@microsoft.com...
Hi Robert,

Thanks to your quick reply.

I have Comcast cable. BTW, I don't have the same issue before XP SP2.

Thanks.

Abel

"Robert L [MS-MVP]" wrote:

> Do you have DSL line? If yes, you may need to modify MTU.
> For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.
>
> Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.
>
> "Abel Chan" <awong@newsgroup.nospam> wrote in message news:EDB610FC-0852-4F8A-8DEF-F7BE8E16D9D1@microsoft.com...
> Hi all,
>
> After I installed XP SP2, I have lots of problem with my VPN connection.
>
> 90% of the time, I have to connect and reconnect again in order to bring up
> the Remote Desktop conection.
>
> 80% of the time, the connection will drop and I have to reconnect again.
> Like above, I have to reconnect multiple times in order to make it work.
>
> In all instances, the VPN client shown that I have connected to the tunnel
> and also got an IP address. However, the connection is actually not there.
> I cannot access any network drive and I can't bring up Remote Desktop.
>
> I have shiva vpn client verison 8.42p1. Any one has the same issue? Please
> help!!!
>
> BTW, if I remove SP2, it works like a charm. :)
>
> Thanks

Isaac
07-10-2005, 12:09 AM
Hi there.

I recently had the same trouble on our network and came within a week
of losing my job. Whenever I would hack registries and lower my MTU,
things began to work. But as it turns out, the entire problem was due
to a Windows 2000 Server automatic update. The update was a reinstall
of the TCP/IP stack files in order to seal a security hole. That update
broke our entire network. It was because of devices with differing MTUs
and a LAN/WAN environment according to the MS KB article. To us, the
problem surfaced as RDP/Terminal Services just giving a black screen,
SQL Database replications and DTS packages failing, Active Directory
replication failing, and other weirdnesses. The url to the Windows
knowledge base article is here if it will help you:
"http://support.microsoft.com/kb/898060/?" - but again, I can't be
responsible for what you do, blah blah blah, cover my butt, etc. If it
saves you from any more heart-ache and late night caffeine binges, I'll
be glad to have been of service.

Thanks,
-Isaac Morton
imorton@hotmail.com


xp sp2 broke shiva vpn client