Wake on Demand over the Net using "Remote Reboot Switch"



tb
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
I want to be able to have my home computer setup where if I'm away I would
be able to power up computer over the internet and use remote desktop.

I saw that there is a device called "DataProbe iBoot Remote Reboot Switch"
that is made by DataProbe where you control computer over the net. So I was
wondering if this would work between my Linksys router and computer and has
any one else use it.

TB

Pavel
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
Why spend so much money when you can do it free. There is a free programs
called MagPac from AMD and few others for just a small price like "CC GET
MAC ADDRESS". Or you can simply log to this website
http://www.dslreports.com/wakeup and do it for free.
All the above programs will only work if your PC is capable of accepting
such signal. Most, if not all newer network cards have this capability. If
your PC has no network card then even a regular modem can be used but that
does not work too well since any ring will wake the PC up unless there is a
dedicated phone line.
In both, the network or the modem way, you need to tell your motherboard
that you wish to use this feature by entering the bios and making the
appropriate changes there.

--
Pavel


"tb" <terrance_bliss@msn.com> wrote in message
news:uOZS6fuVFHA.2692@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>I want to be able to have my home computer setup where if I'm away I would
> be able to power up computer over the internet and use remote desktop.
>
> I saw that there is a device called "DataProbe iBoot Remote Reboot Switch"
> that is made by DataProbe where you control computer over the net. So I
> was
> wondering if this would work between my Linksys router and computer and
> has
> any one else use it.
>
> TB
>
>
>

Pavel
07-09-2005, 11:09 PM
I take back the recomendation for "CC GET MAC ADDRESS" program because it
only works on local lan.

--
Pavel


"Pavel" <Atin90@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:ubZHXw8VFHA.2748@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Why spend so much money when you can do it free. There is a free programs
> called MagPac from AMD and few others for just a small price like "CC GET
> MAC ADDRESS". Or you can simply log to this website
> http://www.dslreports.com/wakeup and do it for free.
> All the above programs will only work if your PC is capable of accepting
> such signal. Most, if not all newer network cards have this capability. If
> your PC has no network card then even a regular modem can be used but that
> does not work too well since any ring will wake the PC up unless there is
> a dedicated phone line.
> In both, the network or the modem way, you need to tell your motherboard
> that you wish to use this feature by entering the bios and making the
> appropriate changes there.
>
> --
> Pavel
>
>
> "tb" <terrance_bliss@msn.com> wrote in message
> news:uOZS6fuVFHA.2692@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>I want to be able to have my home computer setup where if I'm away I would
>> be able to power up computer over the internet and use remote desktop.
>>
>> I saw that there is a device called "DataProbe iBoot Remote Reboot
>> Switch"
>> that is made by DataProbe where you control computer over the net. So I
>> was
>> wondering if this would work between my Linksys router and computer and
>> has
>> any one else use it.
>>
>> TB
>>
>>
>>
>
>


Wake on Demand over the Net using "Remote Reboot Switch"